Comparison

Boardfeed vs Data Importer

If you are choosing an import app for monday.com, Data Importer is probably the other tab you have open. It is an established marketplace app that publishes its pricing, which is what makes an honest comparison possible: every figure on its side of the table below came off a public page, with a link to that page and the date we read it.

Last checked : the Boardfeed side, against the code. The Data Importer side was read from its public pages on 2026-09-11 and is dated separately in every cell.

Which one should you pick?

The short version, before the detail. These two apps are not competing on the same axis: Data Importer sells you a number of imports, Boardfeed sells you a number of rows and an account of what happened to each one.

Choose Data Importer if…

  • You want a free tier with no clock on it. Their home page states plainly that there is "no time limited trial", and their free tier imports into one board for as long as you like. Boardfeed's install starts a 14-day window on the Solo limits and then falls back to Free — a smaller Free, but a Free with a step down in it rather than a flat line.
  • You need data from an ad platform today. Their marketplace listing describes importing "from any app (e.g. Facebook, Instagram, Google)". Boardfeed lists Facebook and Instagram Ads, Google Ads and LinkedIn Ads as planned and not available, because each needs an OAuth app review first. If that is the data you came for, this is not a close call.
  • You run a few very large imports rather than many small ones. Their plans meter imports — 100, 500 and 1,000 a month — and the pages we read state no row ceiling at all, so how many rows one of those imports may carry is not published. Boardfeed meters the opposite way: unlimited runs, and 5,000 / 50,000 / 500,000 rows written a month. One 200,000-row load a month is 40 % of the top Boardfeed plan’s allowance, whatever it would be on theirs.
  • The entry price is what decides it. Pro is $16 a month against Solo at $19.

Choose Boardfeed if…

  • A wrong number would cost you more than a missing one. This is the whole design. Every row ends in exactly one of created, updated, skipped or failed, the four counts add up to the rows in the file, and every failure names its row and reason. The test further down is what that is worth on a dirty file.
  • You import often, or on a tight interval. Runs are not metered and schedules are not capped, so an hourly sync costs the same as a weekly one. Only the rows a run writes are counted.
  • You need to answer for what changed on a board. Every run keeps its counts and its row errors — 7 days on Free, 90 on the paid plans — and a run that left rows out mails you those rows as a CSV.
  • Your source is a sheet, an API or a SaaS tool with a key. Google Sheets, any REST or JSON endpoint, and Mailchimp, Stripe, Airtable, HubSpot, Notion, Klaviyo, Shopify and Cin7 all run on a schedule. Uploads do not: a file you uploaded cannot be read again, so Boardfeed refuses to put one on a timer.

The two, line by line

How to read this table. Every Data Importer figure carries the public page it was read from, checked on 2026-09-11. Where a public page does not state something, the row says no public statement found — that is a statement about the pages we read, not a claim that the feature is missing. Features marked “planned” on the Boardfeed side are on the roadmap and not available yet.

Boardfeed and Data Importer compared on published information, 2026-09-11.
What Boardfeed Data Importer
Free plan Free forever: every source and every schedule shape, up to 5,000 rows written a month, unlimited boards, 7 days of run history. A free tier that imports into one board. Their home page states plainly that there is "no time limited trial". checked on 2026-09-11: dataimporter.co
Entry paid plan Solo at $19 per month: 50,000 rows written per calendar month, every source, every schedule shape, 90 days of run history. Installing the app starts a 14-day window on the Solo limits. Pro at $16 per month: 100 imports a month, 1 user, 10 scheduled imports, unlimited boards. checked on 2026-09-11: dataimporter.co/pricing
Second paid plan Team at $49 per month: 500,000 rows written per calendar month, and seats for 3 or more people. Nothing else separates it from Solo. Team at $39 per month: 500 imports a month, 3 users, 30 scheduled imports. checked on 2026-09-11: dataimporter.co/pricing
Top published plan Solo and Team are the only paid plans. Both are flat-rate; there is no upper tier to move to. Business at $79 per month: 1,000 imports a month, 5 users, 50 scheduled imports. Enterprise is priced as "custom" and covers custom integrations and additional security requirements. checked on 2026-09-11: dataimporter.co/pricing
Import quotas No per-import quota and no cap on schedules or boards. One thing is metered: the rows a run writes to a board, per calendar month — 5,000 on Free, 50,000 on Solo, 500,000 on Team. Created and updated rows count; skipped rows, failed rows and rows a run never reached do not. At the limit the next run is refused before it starts, and a run already going is never cut off. Each published plan carries a monthly import count — 100, 500 and 1,000 imports — and the trial covers the "first 3 imports". checked on 2026-09-11: dataimporter.co/pricing
Scheduling Manual, hourly, daily at a chosen time and timezone, weekly, or a cron expression, plus run-now and overlap protection. Every plan has every schedule shape, and no plan caps how many schedules run or how often; an uploaded file is the one source that cannot take one. "Import data on a custom schedule, even when you are offline." Scheduled imports are counted per plan: 10, 30 and 50 on Pro, Team and Business. checked on 2026-09-11: dataimporter.codataimporter.co/pricing
Sources CSV and Excel upload, Google Sheets, any REST/JSON endpoint, API-key connectors for Mailchimp, Stripe, Airtable, HubSpot, Notion, Klaviyo, Shopify and Cin7, and sources that read a connected platform account: Google Search Console, Google Analytics, Facebook Ads, LinkedIn Ads and TikTok Ads, the three Meta Page sources, and SharePoint and OneDrive files. An uploaded file runs when you start it — it cannot be read again later, so it cannot be scheduled; the other nineteen can. Google Ads needs a developer token and is planned, not available; the connected sources are live once their platform app is approved. "Multiple sources from one app" through pre-built integrations, plus "connect to any API without code" for a REST API. The marketplace listing describes the app as importing "from any app (e.g. Facebook, Instagram, Google)". checked on 2026-09-11: dataimporter.comonday.com/marketplace/listing/10000557/data-importer
Boards Unlimited boards on every plan, including Free. "Unlimited boards" is listed on the paid plans. The free tier is described as importing into one board. checked on 2026-09-11: dataimporter.co/pricingdataimporter.co
Upsert by key Match incoming rows to existing items on a key column: upsert updates what it matches and creates the rest, update-only writes to matches and skips everything else. Two rows in the same file carrying the same key are settled in the same step — the last one wins, and the earlier rows are reported as skipped by row number rather than silently dropped. Not stated publicly. no public statement found — pages checked on 2026-09-11:
Row-level error preview Before anything is written, a check runs the import engine’s own rules over a sample of the source — 20,000 rows by default — and lists each row it would refuse, with the row number, the field and the reason. It states how many rows it looked at instead of implying it read them all, and names the three things a sample cannot answer. After a run, the rows that were left out arrive as a CSV attached to the e-mail, and the run history offers to re-import just those rows. Not stated publicly. no public statement found — pages checked on 2026-09-11:
Trial Installing the app starts a 14-day window in which the Solo limits apply. When it lapses the account falls back to Free rather than stopping. No time-limited trial. The free tier is unlimited in time and imports into one board. checked on 2026-09-11: dataimporter.co

The one test we ran ourselves

Everything above is read off a public page. This is not. On 2026-09-12 we put one deliberately dirty CSV through both products — 21 data rows, carrying:

  • EU and US decimal commas in the same column,
  • an amount that is not a number in any format,
  • a date that can be read two ways,
  • accented names,
  • an empty required field,
  • and the same order id on two different rows.

Through Data Importer, what we recorded was: 17 items on the board, four rows gone with no error of any kind, and silent corruptions among the rest. 1.250,00 was read as 1.25, dates arrived as Excel serial numbers, accented names as mojibake.

Through Boardfeed, the same file: 10 created, 1 skipped, 10 failed. Twenty-one rows accounted for, every failure named with its row number and its reason. The skipped row was the earlier half of the duplicated order id, reported as such. That is the invariant the product is built to keep: every row ends in exactly one of created, updated, skipped or failed, and the four counts add up to the number of rows in the file. A row that neither lands nor is reported is the failure we treat as unacceptable.

21 rows in, 21 rows accounted for A single bar divided into three parts: 10 rows created, 1 skipped and 10 failed, adding up to the 21 rows in the file. 21 rows in 21 accounted for 10 created 1 skipped 10 failed
The same 21-row file through Boardfeed: every row ends in exactly one outcome, and the outcomes add up to the file.

How to weigh that. It is one file, run once, on 2026-09-12, by us. The CSV is kept as a test fixture in our own repository and every Boardfeed number above is reproducible against it; the screenshots of the other product are not published. So read it as our report of a single test, not as a statement about how Data Importer handles data in general, which is not something one file can establish. Run the same file through both yourself if the answer matters to you — that is the point of saying which file it was.

Sources used for this comparison

What this comparison deliberately leaves out

Installs, ratings and review counts

The marketplace listing renders them in the browser, so the public HTML of the listing page does not contain them and we will not quote a figure we could not read.

Whether a feature is missing from the competitor

A row that says "not stated publicly" means we could not find it documented on the public pages we read on 2026-09-11. It is not a claim that the feature does not exist.

The files behind our own head-to-head test

The run described further down this page is recorded in our notes with its date and the CSV it used, and that fixture is in our repository. The screenshots of the other product are not published, so the account here is our report of one test on one day — read it as that, not as a description of how the product behaves in general.

Revenue, customer counts and funding

Not published on the pages checked, and not relevant to choosing an importer.

If a figure here is out of date, tell us and it gets corrected. The point of citing the source is that anyone can check it. Write to support@boardfeed.co.